San Fernando East retains VEDSA/ bmobile Track & Field Championship in Emphatic Style

Looking sharp! Youngsters from La Romain/Debe proudly represent their zone at the Mannie Ramjohn stadium during this year's VEDSA games

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad - March 21,  2019

San Fernando East Zone retained their Ministry of Education Victoria Education District Sports Association (VEDSA) bmobile-sponsored Track and Field Championship title when the 2019 edition sprinted off at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella recently.

Altogether, the victorious zone amassed a total of 429 points, finishing ahead of runners-up, San Fernando North (406 points), and third placed Gasparillo (317 points). Rounding off the competing zones were Claxton Bay/Tortuga (305 points), Williamsville (284 points), La Romain/Debe (221 points) and Lengua/Barrackpore (165 points) respectively.

On the track, athletes competed in events such as 60m, 100m, 200m, 300m, 400m, 800m, 4x100m relay and 800m Medley. Field events however, were held in February at the VOS Recreation Ground in Gasparillo.

The budding athleticism of the youngsters from the San Fernando East Zone will now see them represent Victoria District at the National Primary School Track and Field Championships which is scheduled to run off in May at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain.

In the March Past Parade, Williamsville (274 points) strutted to a fifth consecutive title. Draped in their traditional red and white attire, Williamsville executed their steps and ‘eyes-right’ salute flawlessly to the tune of the Third AJSA College Sea Scout Band. Lengua/Barrackpore (265 points), in green/white/purple, also impressed with their display to grab second place while Claxton Bay/Tortuga (256 points), dawned in black/white/purple, finished third overall.

Meanwhile, sponsor representative and Corporate Responsibility and Community Relations Manager at TSTT, Anjanie Ramesar-Soom, was once again present to be a part of the day’s proceedings.

“At bmobile, we are committed to supporting this youth-oriented sport development initiative. Now in our 13th year of sponsorship of the Games, we continue to create and support avenues for growth in our nation’s youth, through sport. The bmobile Foundation understands that sport is not simply a recreational activity; it is one of the cornerstones on which we invest in the young men and women who make up the community of new leaders. To the VEDSA executive, school supervisors, teachers, parents and our stars of the day, the students; congratulations and continue doing your best,” said Ramesar-Soom in her welcome address.

VEDSA chairman, Azard Mohammed, held in high regard the continued contributions of T&T’s leading communications provider towards the Victoria District Games. He also credited the students on their competitive prowess throughout the day’s activities.

“A lot of the athletes have trained hard and practiced for long hours in preparation for this event. I salute your drive and commitment. Our greatest appreciation must be extended towards TSTT for their generous and unwavering support for making this event a reality,” he stated.

Bringing greetings on behalf of Minister of Education, Anthony Garcia, and Minister in the Ministry of Education, Dr. Lovell Francis, was School Supervisor III Soren Bijaram. He expressed heartfelt thanks to the organisers of the meet and also lauded bmobile on their continued assistance.

At the end of the event, several outstanding athletes were presented with individual awards for the competitive exploits in their respective age groups. Males were presented with the Victor Ludorum while the females were awarded the Victrix Ludorum. Capturing these were Aiden Lancaster and Nzana Edwards (Under-9), David Bernard and Nikita Gosine (9-11), Emmanuel James and Aneila Packette (11-13) and Elisha Sylvester and Anisa John (13-15).

This year’s VEDSA Games was held in honour of retired vice-chairperson, Theresa Vieruel, who made a lasting contribution to education throughout her career. Also attending were dignitaries Brian Gopee (Games Secretary), judges Bernadette Massiah-Redhead, Fire Officer Marlene Browne and retired Coast Guard Officer Seebransingh among others.