TSTT backs TTPBA celebration of media Titans

The distinguished Hazel Ward Redman is among ten of the media’s most experienced and celebrated practitioners nominated for the coveted Trinidad and Tobago Publishers and Broadcasters Association (TTPBA) Awards for Media Excellence 2007 which comes off on November 20th. The nominees have been exemplars in almost every area of the media from cartoons and marketing to television presentation and radio broadcasting and include:

Dunstan Eugene Williams Kamaluddin Mohammed Bobby Thomas Hazel Ward Redman Sam Ghany George John Hans Hanoomansingh Diogo Serrao Hamilton Clement Ralph Knowles The 2007 winners will be announced at the TTPBA’s gala event and will join the illustrious ranks of previous TTPBA Media Excellence awardees - Keith Smith, Kathleen Warner, Richard Henderson, Marcel Mahabir, Kenneth Gordon, Pat Mathura, Holly Betaudier and Edward McDowell.

This year the TTPBA Awards is again being organized with the support of TSTT as well as sponsors, BPTT and First Citizens. According to Camille Salandy, TSTT’s Head Public Relations and External Affairs, the company continues to fully support the efforts of the TTPBA to nurture the development of a committed and professional cadre of experts in the media. “These are the people who are best able to tell the story of the country’s history and culture in a way that does justice to our uniqueness and diversity” said Salandy. “The fact that the recipients have demonstrated outstanding achievements accumulated over a period of twenty years or more speaks to a rare level of discipline and proficiency that absolutely must be encouraged.” President of the TTPBA Dominic Beaubrun praised TSTT for their on going involvement with the Association especially since the country had many noteworthy media practitioners. “Today our world is much smaller thanks to the ubiquitous information communications technology. We know what media in other parts of the world is doing and we can look back and be proud of the sacrifices our nominees and past awardees have made as vanguards in shaping our understanding of ourselves. They are more than archivists. They have been the social architects of our identity and the TTPBA Award is but a small part of the great debt of gratitude that we owe them."